Swansea Distinguished Lectures in Computer Science

Please note, this page has been archived and is no longer being updated.

As part of the distinguished lecture series Professor Dame Wendy Hall will be giving a lecture on the origins of Web Science, a relatively new discipline but one that is evolving fast, and consider the development of the Web Science research agenda and the major challenges that need to be tackled.

Title: The Development of Web Science: Research, Education and Diversity

Speaker: Professor Dame Wendy Hall DBE, FRS, FREng Dean, Faculty of Physical and Applied Sciences, University of Southampton

Date:Wednesday 15th February 2012

Time: Refreshments in the foyer from 6.30pm, Lecture begins at 7.00pm

Venue: Faraday Lecture Theatre, Faraday Building, Swansea University

Admission:Free of charge, all welcome 

Other: Refreshments will be served in the foyer from 6.30pm and the lecture will be followed by a buffet

This event is part of a series of lectures at Swansea University given by distinguished computer scientists. It is organised in collaboration with BCS Women in Wales and co-sponsored by the British Computer Society (South Wales Branch) and a grant from the EPSRC Bridging the Gaps programme at Swansea University. 

Speaker Biography: Professor Dame Wendy Hall is one of the first computer scientists to undertake serious research in multimedia and hypermedia and has been at its forefront ever since.

The influence of her work has been significant in many areas including digital libraries, the development of the Semantic Web, and the emerging research discipline of Web Science. She has published over 400 papers and is frequently invited to speak at high profile conferences and events.

In June 2009 she was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society and was President of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) from 2008-2010. Other significant posts she has held include Senior Vice President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, member of the Prime Minister’s Council for Science and Technology, founding member of the European Research Council, member of the EPSRC Council, President of the British Computer Society and EPSRC Senior Research Fellow. She was appointed as Chair of the European Commission’s ISTAG in July 2010.

Contact details: For further information contact Professor Peter Mosses, co-ordinator of the Swansea Distinguished Lectures in Computer Science p.d.mosses@swansea.ac.uk